Page images
PDF
EPUB

A.D. 1783. the one would shrivel with a deadly blight the tender blossoms of the other. We remember, however, that Abishag cherished king David in his old age, and we would fain believe that such was Mary Dunning's laudable object, if so

Ballooning

"Remember, I do not pretend

There's anything perfect about it :
But this I'll aver to the end,

Life's very imperfect without it."

Whether the happy (?) couple continued to reside in the town cannot be ascertained, but if they did no entry of the patriarch's death and burial can be found in the parish registers, and we may infer that they lived happily together for many years, either dying together in some far off parish, or parting to meet in

"Some world far from ours

Where music, and moonlight, and feeling are one."

"The following notice appeared the York Chronicle, for extraordinary, January 10th, 1783:-" Whereas the air balloon has been found to be of such singular advantage in France, in conveying people in an easy and expeditious manner from place to place: this is to give notice, that for the accommodation of people in the neighbourhood of Whitby, &c., a large one is now completed there, with every advantage equal to those in France, which will be found the best and cheapest conveyance from thence to meet the fly, &c., at Northallerton; as the innkeepers have of late been so extravagant in their charges. It will set off every morning at eight o'clock, from the Robin Hood," in Northallerton, and be at Stokesley about half-past eight, at Guisborough about nine, at Whitby to dine, and will return to Northallerton the same evening, to meet the fly, diligence, &c., from the north and south the next morning.

The House of
Correction.

N.B.-It will be very convenient on the Mondays to convey the gentlemen of the law, &c., from Stokesley to Guisborough market; and on its return to bring them home again it will also be very useful for the posts, if they should happen to get drunk or tire their horses, as there will be pockets, &c., (and every other convenience) in the balloon carriage, for putting parchments, letters, and pocket bottles, &c., &c."

The House of Correction is situated at the east end of Zetland-street, on a piece of ground formerly waste. The site was granted by the bishop of Durham to the justices of the North-Riding, conditionally, that the bishops' courts should be held in the Court House to be erected thereon in perpetuity. The land was low and swampy, and was, up to the time of being built upon, the receptacle for the rubbish

of the town; about the middle was a pond used for the A.D. 1783. washing of posting and coaching horses, called the Horse Pond, and at the south-east corner was the pinfold. The House of Correction was erected in 1783, since which time considerable alterations and enlargements have taken place.

1784.

In this year the town of Northallerton suffered very severely from epidemic small pox, as the register of burials Small-pox. testifies.

In his journal, Mr. Wesley writes,-" Monday, June 14th, Wesley's last about noon, I preached at Northallerton, and, I believe, God visit. touched many hearts." This was his last visit to the town.*

1785.

The first foundation of the present Court House and governor's residence for the House of Correction for the Court House. North-Riding of Yorkshire, was laid on a vacant close of ground at Northallerton called the "Priest Garth," situate at the east of the town, on Saturday, April 16th, 1785. The buildings were designed to be occupied by the governor below, and for the Sessions House above.

Mail Coach.

The old London and Edinbro' mail-coach was established, London and and commenced running on the second Monday in November Edinbro' of that year, and came by way of Leeds to Newcastle, it was worked by Mr. North, of the King's Arms Inn, Briggate, Leeds; Messrs. Goodlad & Thackway, Harrogate; Mrs. Alice Haddon, Unicorn Inn, Ripon; Mr. William Smith, Black Bull Inn, Northallerton; Mr. James Trenholme, Darlington; Mr. Thomas Wrangham, Rusheyford; and Mr. Matthew Hall, Cock Inn, Head of the Side, Newcastle. After running by that route for two or three months, it was changed to go by way of York instead of Leeds (being much nearer to London), and continued until 1841; except from May 6th, 1825, to May 6th, 1827, it ran by way of Boroughbridge.

The late Mr. Jonathan Wigfield, of Northallerton, stated Mr. Wesley at before he died, that he recollected distinctly going to hear Thirsk. Mr. Wesley preach at Thirsk in 1786, and his text was, "The King's business requires haste." Mr. Wigfield was then six years old.t

1786.

The following is a copy of a notice served on John Marshall, one of the overseers of the highways, within the Overseers township of Northallerton:

To John Marshall, John Dixon, and John Wallis.

"You being the present Overseers of the Highways within this township of Northallerton; we, whose names are subscribed, do hereby give you notice, that if you expend either

* Ward's Methodism in Thirsk Circuit, page 35.
+ Ibid, page 37.

warned.

A.D. 1786.

1787.

A suicide.

Wholesale spoliation.

1788. Thomas Byerley.

labour or money on behalf of the township in amending any
Way that does not lead from town to town, the same or any
part of it will not be allowed in your accounts."
Dated this 13th day of May, 1786.

B. WALKER, Vicar.

WILL. SQUIRE.
WILL. WAIles.
JOHN WALKER.

On May 17th, died at Northallerton, wife of John Ward, schoolmaster, at the age of 46 years. She starved herself to death in a fit of insanity, through fear of being poisoned! This hallucination was created by a dream, in which she declared her husband had attempted to poison her in three successive meals.

In 1787, the high-pitched roofs of the nave, aisles, transepts, and chancel of the parish church were lowered in order to obtain the lead. Instead of the three distinct roofs which covered the nave and aisles, one monstrous slated roof was substituted. The churchwardens' accounts about this time afford a very remarkable instance of the reckless manner in which churchwardens were in the habit of dealing with edifices, upon which their forefathers spared neither expense nor skill. For instance 19 tons 16 cwt, 3 qrs. 24 lbs. of old lead, stripped from the roof, produced £320 15s.; and this wholesale spoliation and vandalism reduced a debt of £332 IOS. 51d. to £7 17s. 1d. The churchwardens might have been capital managers for the then parishioners, but as wardens of the church, to use a mild term, their mode of action was injudicious.

Thomas Byerley (brother of sir John) was born at Brompton, Nov. 11th, 1788, and educated at Northallerton grammar school. At an early age he evinced a great aptitude for knowledge, and going to London, soon found employment for his talents. He became editor of the Literary Chronicle, Percy Anecdotes, Evening Star, Mirror, &c. He died at the early age of 38 years, deeply regretted by a numerous circle of literary friends.

Discovery of In a field close to the Castle Hills, a large urn was dug an urn of coins up by one Lawrence Leadley, containing an innumerable quantity of coins, chiefly of the later Roman emperors; a few were corroded, but the greatest part were in good preservation; the urn was made of coarse blue clay and porous. So numerous were the coins, which amounted to several hundreds, that they soon got into circulation as farthings, and went by the name of "Lawrie's farthings." Curiosity is naturally excited as to why Roman coins are found secreted in so great abundance. With regard to such coins as are

discovered enclosed in urns and buried in the earth, it has been supposed that it was a custom with the Romans to hoard their money in such a situation. Among the military it seems likely that the method of burying money would be pursued in general, for as the Roman forces were paid in copper money, called therefore Æs Militare, a service of any duration would occasion such an accumulation of this ponderous coin as could not be carried about by the soldier in his numerous marches; the surest method, therefore, would be to deposit it in a spot known only to himself; but as it frequently happened that these veterans died before they had an opportunity of re-visiting their hoards, the knowledge of them would be necessarily lost with their owners, and they would continue in the place where they were originally deposited, until accident or curiosity again brought them to light.*

A.D. 1788.

1789.

On the east side of the town, against the side of the house called Vine House, formerly the property of Robert Raikes Large Vines. Fulthorpe, esq., now used as the Cottage Hospital, grew the largest vine in the kingdom, which in 1789 contained 137 square yards, and had it been permitted, when in its greatest vigour, would have extended over three or four times that area. The circumference of the trunk a little above the surface of the ground was 3 feet 11 inches, but from its great age and from an injudicious management, the greater part of it is now gone to decay. It is supposed to have been planted upwards of 200 years. There is another vine of smaller dimensions in the yard of the "King's Arm's Hotel," the tendrils of which at one time are said to have extended to the bottom of the yard, a distance of forty or fifty yards. This vine was most probably reared from a cutting taken from the old original vine.

The following entry occurs in the parish books:-"Paid Entry in ringers for his majesty's recovery,† 7s. 6d."

Parish Books.

A person when at work ploughing in a field about a mile 1792. south of Northallerton, turned up a silver coin, rather larger Ancient coin. than a shilling, but somewhat thinner, which, on cleaning, proved to be a coin of king Alfred, in a fair state of preservation.

In the churchwardens' accounts, the following entry is made:-" Ringers, at taking of Valinceons [Valenciennes] 5s., ale 2s.

1793.

1795.

In the summer of this year, some of the officers of the duke of Gloucester's regiment (115th Foot), whilst passing A disturbance through Northallerton, created an alarming disturbance,

[blocks in formation]

A.D. 1795

An adult baptism.

1796. Wesleyan Chapel.

Remarkable discovery.

1797.

music in the Church.

which was likely to have been attended with serious consequences, but was happily frustrated by the magistracy. The grand jury at the ensuing Quarter Sessions for the NorthRiding found a true bill of indictment against certain of the said officers, but the matter was subsequently settled by the officers agreeing to pay a sum of money for the use of the poor of Northallerton.*

The following baptism is recorded in a register in the parish church, under date 1795:-“ John Thomas, an adult, native of the coast of Guinea, and late a slave in Antigua.” The old Wesleyan Methodist Chapel built. It is now used by the Baptists, who bought it when the present Wesleyan chapel was erected.

About the latter end of the year 1796, a few pennyworth of turnips were bought from George Wood, a Northallerton gardener, by an old lady, and in cutting through one of them, the knife grazed against something hard in the middle or heart of the turnip, which proved to be a gold wedding ring. The gardener's wife was sent for, and was asked if she had, during the time they had rented the garden in which the turnips were grown, ever lost, or knew of any other person having lost a gold ring. Upon which she replied that, being one day weeding, or doing some other work in the garden, she remembered having lost her wedding ring from off her finger, which was then about fourteen years ago. From the description she gave of the ring, the old lady was certain this was the same ring. Upon its being shown to her, and the question asked if she had ever seen that ring, the poor woman immediately knew it to be the identical one which she had dropt from her finger about fourteen years before, which was then about a year after she was married to her husband George Wood. It appears that the turnip must have grown through the ring, and at last enclosed it.f

66

In the churchwardens' accounts for 1797, the following Instrumental entries appear :--" For soldiers playing band of music in ye church, 5s.; ringing twice on duke of York's passing through the town, 8s. Iod.; ringing on admiral Duncan's victory over the Dutch fleet, 7s. 6d.

1798.

The following entries occur in the churchwardens' accounts :-" Ringing for beating the French in Ireland,

*Mann-Dowson Todd's MSS.

+ Vide Gentleman's Magazine, Sept. 24th, 1799.

Admiral Duncan totally defeated the Dutch fleet, off Camperdown, and captured 8 sail of the line, for which service he was created visct. Duncan of Camperdown, and baron Duncan of Lundie, co. Perth, Oct. 30th, 1797, with a pension of £3,000 per annum to himself and the next two heirs of the peerage; died 1804.

« PreviousContinue »