Page images
PDF
EPUB

A.D. 1882.

Provincial

of Free

masons.

respect they were beaten by one order, the Carthusians. The members of the Yorkshire Archæological Society were then within the most perfect Carthusian ruin we had in England. The chief peculiarity of rule in which the Carthusian differed from all the other abbeys was that every man lived in a separate dwelling by himself. They never went out except to church or to the chapter-house, or to till their gardens. Each man's house contained everything that he wanted for his own daily life, and the monk filled up his time by digging his little garden or copying manuscripts. The Carthusians at Mount Grace had a very small church, and a very large cloister, which latter was simply a passage connecting the little houses of the monks. They had, however, a large kitchen for entertaining their guests. The monk's house consisted of an entrance passage, a living room, small bedroom, and a little pantry. Then there was a staircase two feet wide, communicating with a room in the roof, used as a store room or a workshop.

After a minute inspection of the ruins had been made, the party returned to Northallerton, where the members and friends lunched together at the Golden Lion Hotel, under the presidency of Mr. John Hutton, J.P., of Solberge (late M.P. for the borough). After dinner, a numerous company proceeded to the ancient Parish Church of Northallerton, the special features of which were pointed out and described by Mr. Hutton.

The Provincial Grand Lodge of Freemasons for the North Grand Lodge and East Ridings of Yorkshire was held at Northallerton on Thursday, October 5th, under the presidency of the Right Hon. and Right Worshipful the Earl of Zetland, P.G.M. The invitation had been given by the brethren of the Anchor Lodge, Northallerton, and accepted by the Provincial Grand Lodge at its annual meeting. No expense or effort was spared by the Northallerton brethren to give a right loyal and fitting reception to the Provincial Grand Lodge, which for the first time was honoring our ancient town with its presence, and right heartily was the good-will thus evinced appreciated. At the banquet which followed, the Psalmist's observation was verified to the letter, "Behold, how good and pleasant a thing it is brethren to dwell together in unity." There were nearly three hundred brethren present, among whom we noticed Sir George Elliot, bart., M.P., P.G.M., Eastern Division, South Wales; Sir James Meek, P.P.S.G.W., York; the Hon. W. T. Orde Powlett, P.P.S.G.W.; G. W. Elliot, M.P., P.P.S.G.W. On this occasion two Northallerton brethren were appointed Provincial Officers, viz., C. Waistell, P.M., to be P.G.R., and J. Fairburn, P.M., to be P.G.P. The procession from the Masonic Hall to the Town Hall was a most imposing one.

A very rare visitant to our shores was captured on October 27th, in the shape of an American bittern. It was shot by the Hon. W. Dawnay, near Northallerton, and forwarded by that gentleman to the York Museum. The scientific name of the bird is Ardea lentiginosa or Botaurus moloko. The last bird of this species seen in England was shot near Frome, in 1804, and is preserved in the British Museum.

A.D. 1882. Rara Avis.

On Sunday, October 29th, the two last services were held Closing of the in the old parish church, previous to its being closed for Parish Church restoration. Large congregations were present both morning and evening. The morning sermon was preached by the rev. J. L. Saywell, curate, from the text, "Here we have no continuing city, but we seek one to come."(Heb. xiii, 14.) Alluding to the sacred memories and associations connected with the old church, which rendered its familiar features in wood and stone, pulpit and pew, so dear to many of those present; the preacher said the pain of parting, although intense, was alleviated by the thought that at some future time not far hence, they hoped to meet on the same spot, with feelings of joy and gratitude, to re-dedicate to God a cleansed and beautified temple, in which to worship the Lord in the beauty of holiness. In the evening the vicar, the rev. B. C. Caffin, occupied the pulpit, and preached an eloquent and impressive sermon from the words, "After these things I beheld, and lo, a great multitude, which no man could number, of all nations, and kindreds, and people, and tongues, stood before the throne, and before the Lamb, clothed with white robes, and palms in their hands."-(Rev. vii, 9.) Having referred in touching terms to the impending divestment of the old parish church, the reverend gentleman solemnly reminded his hearers of the uncertainty of life, and how that, in all probability, some of their number would be called to their account before the work was completed.

storation com.

Early on the following morning the work was commenced, The work of and the sound of axe and hammer reverberated through the Church resacred edifice. The chancel was boarded off, and fitted up menced. for the services held during the restoration of the nave. The contractor for the stone-work was Mr. J. Dodgson, of Northallerton; for the wood-work Mr. Joseph Wilson, also of Northallerton.

[ocr errors]

On the evening of October 30th, the curious old custom Riding the of "riding the stang was observed, on the occasion of Stang. the return home of a couple who had eloped a short time previously. A conveyance was procured, and in it were placed effigies of the unfaithful pair, and a procession was formed, those taking part in it carrying torches. On the following evening the farce was repeated, and on the third

A.D. 1882 evening, the effigies having been carried to the residences of the delinquents, were burnt amidst the hoots and yells of the indignant crowd.

Church.

Discoveries in The workmen engaged in restoring the parish church, Northallerton found, in several places on removing the plaster from the walls, water-colour inscriptions, apparently texts of scripture. The capital letters are red, and the rest black old English text. It is impossible to say how long the inscriptions had been covered, or when they were originally laid on, but in places the letters appear quite fresh. In the south transept, near the tower, on the east wall, an archway of considerable dimensions was exposed, the back of which was painted. From its position it is generally supposed to be an old English altar, in use in pre-reformation times; the south east pier cuts through the left hand side of the arch. In the west wall of

An ancient

the church outside, a well plastered arched recess was discovered behind a monumental slab, in which was probably placed the effigy of some saint. This conjecture is confirmed by the position of the niche, which is close to the west entrance of the church on the right hand side. These discoveries prove the parish church of Northallerton to be one of very considerable antiquity. The oldest monumental slab in the church bears date 1593.* *

In an upper room, over the mantel-piece of the house now Oil-painting. occupied by Mrs. Hide, is an ancient oil painting supposed to represent the episcopal palace of the bishops of Durham, which once occupied the site of the present cemetery. The draw-bridge and moat, in which two swans are gliding, are shewn in the painting, together with several houses in the vicinity of Castle Hills. The picture, apparently the work of an amateur, is painted on a panel, and as such is a fixture, but it no doubt represents something of the appearance which that interesting portion of the town presented in the painter's time.

Removal of

The inscriptions upon the two stone tablet insertions under Stone Tablets the window of the south transept having become illegible, the tablets were removed from the wall by order of the architect undertaking the restoration of the church.t

1883. The NorthRiding Record Society.

This society was formed in January, for the purpose of publishing a calendar and index of the important documents deposited with the Clerk of the Peace at Northallerton. They include miscellaneous sessions oaths and declaration rolls from the thirtieth year of Henry VIII., and information relating to local history, the social status and condition of the people, the prevalence and nature of crime at various periods, obsolete statutes and usages, archaic words and phrases, + Vide page 69.

* Vide illustration on last page.

curious place-names, together with a complete record of the A.D. 1883. numerous prosecutions of Roman Catholic recusants, and also of members of the Society of Friends.*

Man.

On Friday Evening, February 16th, the bishop of Sodor Bishop of and Man (Dr. Rowley Hill), preached a most eloquent sermon Sodor and in the parish church, from the words, "What is that in thine hand?" On the following day Dr. Hill administered the rite of confirmation, afterwards addressing the newly confirmed from the words, "I will not let Thee go, except Thou bless me."

On the removal of the plaster from the walls of the south Inscriptions aisle by the workmen engaged in the restoration of the parish on Church church, the following inscription was exposed :

This Church was

Beautified.

Churchwardens.

.nson.

Walls.

The beautifying above referred to was found on the further removal of plaster to be texts of scripture in old English characters, surrounded by floral and grotesque devices, covering the walls all round the inside of the church. The date of the above inscription was obliterated, but beneath one of the texts was found the names

William Allenson,

171..duke Bell.

On the north wall of the north aisle, under the gallery, a nearly obliterated name and date were exposed.

For the third time in six years this cup has been won by The Waterloo a dog trained by Mr. John Shaw, of Northallerton.† On Cup. Saturday, February 24th, when the three o'clock train from the south arrived at Northallerton station, it was met by several hundred people from the town and surrounding district to do honour to the return of "Wild Mint," the winner of the Waterloo Cup, "Waterford," another successful dog, and Mr. John Shaw their trainer. As soon as Mr. Shaw

*A list of the items relating to Northallerton, extracted from the published Records of the Society by the compiler, will be found in the Appendix. † Vide pages 199, 200,

A.D. 1883. alighted from the train he was loudly cheered, and speedily conveyed to a carriage, in which he and the canine winner were placed. A procession was formed, headed by a brass band, the carriage being drawn by a number of men. On the route down the station-road and throughout the town the band played "See, the Conquering Hero Comes." On arriving at the Golden Lion Hotel, loud and repeated cheers were given, an adjournment made to the house, and the evening spent in harmony.*

Further Discoveries in

Church.

As the work of restoring the parish church progressed, the following interesting discoveries were made:—a copper Northallerton half-penny of William (III.) and Mary, 1696; a small piece of Roman pottery, and a large quantity of carving and tracery of various periods, including several fine pieces of Saxon work. On scraping the walls, the private marks of the masons by whom the stones were worked were found upon the face of the ashlar. It is customary now to put these marks upon the bed of the stone.

A Relic.

Visit to

Museum.

During the excavations for the new gas-works one of the workmen turned up from a considerable depth a small antique spur in good preservation. Whether it had fitted the boot of a doughty knight who had fallen whilst escaping from the Battle of the Standard, or from its size indicates the age of small heels and large overhauls worn by the cavaliers of the Stuart period, cannot be decided, but it is nevertheless an antique and valuable relic. Northallerton was in byegone days celebrated for the excellence of durability and finish of the spurs manufactured in the town. The last spurrier in Northallerton was Robin Richardson, who died in 1811 or 1812. Spurriers were always to be found in towns through which troops were frequently passing.

A large party of the members of the Ripon Naturalists' Littlethorpe Club, and Scientific Society, availed themselves on Saturday, October 6th, of the kind invitation of Mrs. Rothery, of Littlethorpe Hall, to visit the museum of the late Charles Rothery, esq. It consists of a large entrance hall, and two or three smaller rooms adjoining, strewn with objects of curiosity and interest, such as the art of byegone generations, and the fossils of the past eras of the world's history. There is the grand old oak bedstead, beautifully carved and inlaid, in which James I. slept at Northallerton, with the rest of the furniture of the bedroom en suite; and a suit of fluted armour of the time of Henry the seventh, of fine Milanese steel, with broadswords, and Highland claymores, by Andrea

*The readers of the "Annals" must not suppose that because the compiler has inserted the above he therefore approves of coursing and its attendant evils,

« PreviousContinue »