Page images
PDF
EPUB

Ferrara. The stuffed birds are real works of art, and are all A.D. 1883. by the celebrated Greenwell. The fossils are numerous, and there are two or three ichthysauri, splendid specimens, and the ganoid fishes and ammomets are in great variety. The contents and arrangement of the museum shows the judgment and talent of a collector who never spared his means to obtain a worthy object. Unfortunately, the late Mr. Rothery did not live long to enjoy the contemplation of his work. After partaking of the generous hospitality of their kind hostess, the party returned to Ripon in the rosy glow of an autumnal sunset, charmed with their visit to the museum, and the kindness of Mrs. Rothery.*

Whilst pulling down the east wall of the north transept of Discoveries. the church which had been condemned by the architect, the foundations of the Norman aisles and tower were exposed, which will enable archæologists to fix the lines and exact position of the Norman church. Two pieces of carved stone in excellent preservation were also discovered,—the one late Runic, and the other Norman.

Marmaduke Jaques, for over thirty-two years parish clerk Marmaduke of Northallerton, died after a short illness at the advanced Jaques. age of eighty years, September 4th. He had been a good and faithful servant to the church throughout his term of office, never having once missed a service or neglected a duty, unless prevented by indisposition. When a young man he was an enthusiastic campanologist and musician, and the author of several vocal and bell compositions of considerable merit,—one, a chorale, entitled "Wolverhampton," is set to the words, "While shepherds watched their flocks by night," and is sung with great enthusiasm every Christmas by the waits and carol singers in Northallerton and vicinity. With the death of old Jaques, another link connecting us with the ancient days has been snapped. He possessed an excellent memory and could remember incidents connected with the now extinct stage-coach, and orchestra of stringed instruments formerly used in neighbouring churches, in which he himself very frequently played the bass viol. He could also remember the Manchester Bread Riots, the Liverpool Cotton Famine, and the Birmingham Chartist Disturbances. His white head will be missed from its accustomed place in the old church which he loved so much.

and Aisles.

The newly restored nave, aisles, and south transept of the Re-opening parish church were re-opened for divine worship with solemn of the Nave rejoicings, September 6th. The principal alterations were the raising of the roofs to their original height, the cleaning and pointing of the stonework both inside and outside the

*Bedale and Northallerton Times.

A.D. 1883. building, and the insertion of new stone where necessary; the piercing of the lancet windows in the north transept, and the general beautifying of the church throughout. There was a celebration of the Holy Communion at eight o'clock, followed by morning service at eleven. The prayers were read by the rev. J. L. Saywell, curate, the first lesson by the rev. Canon Camidge, and the second by the rev. B. C. Caffin, vicar. The sermon was preached by the ven. Archdeacon Yeoman, from the words, "I will fill this latter house with glory, saith the Lord of Hosts." There was a large attendance of the local clergy, and the offertory amounted to £27. In the evening there was an overflowing congregation to hear the celebrated rev. George Body, canon missioner of the diocese of Durham. The prayers were again read by the rev. J. L. Saywell, the first lesson by the ven. Archdeacon Cust, and the second by the vicar. Canon Body took for his text the words, " By the grace of God, I am what I am," from which he preached a sermon of rare eloquence and power, holding the immense congregation spell-bound from beginning to end. The amount collected was £25 5s., which with £3 15s. collected at the Holy Communion made a total of £56.

Burial of
Marmaduke

Jaques.

Archdeacon
Cust.

1884.

In the afternoon of the same day the old parish clerk, Marmaduke Jaques, was laid to rest, thus fulfilling his own prediction that he should not live to see the old church re-opened. After the burial several dumb peals were rung in honour of his memory, and the choir habited in their surplices attended the funeral and sung two hymns, one in the chapel and the other at the grave. The burial service was conducted by the revds. B. C. Čaffin and J. L. Saywell.

The re-opening services were continued on the following Sunday, September 9th, the preacher in the morning being the ven. Archdeacon Cust, and in the evening the rev. S. R. Coxe, rector of Baconsthorpe, and late vicar of Brompton. The amount collected was £22.

In consequence of advancing age, the ven. Archdeacon Cust resigned the livings of Danby Wiske and Yafforth, and was succeeded by the rev. R. Connell, B.D.

Another section of the parish church restoration work, Re-opening consisting of the tower and north transept, was re-opened for of the Tower divine worship on February 22nd. The service was intoned and North Transept. by the rev. W. H. Robertson, minor canon of Durham cathedral, the first lesson was read by the ven. archdeacon Cust, and the second by the rev. B. C. Caffin, vicar. The sermon was preached by his grace the archbishop of York, from the text, "Be not conformed to this world, but be ye transformed by the renewing of your minds." The offertory taken after the sermon was £36 IOS. In the evening the prayers were

intoned by the rev. H. C. Holmes, rector of Birkby, the first lesson was read by the rev. J. L. Saywell, and the second by the vicar. The preacher was the ven. archdeacon Hamilton, whose text was, "I will pray with the spirit, and I will pray with the understanding also; I will sing with the spirit, and I will sing with the understanding also." The amount collected was £20 IOS., making a total of £57 for the day. The re-opening services were continued on the following Sunday, the prayers being intoned by the rev. J. L. Saywell, and the lessons read by the vicar. The preacher in the morning was the rev. Dr. Pearce, professor of mathematics, and subwarden of the University of Durham, his text was, "Whose faith followed." The preacher in the evening was the rev. canon Palleine, who preached a telling sermon on the cleansing of the temple at Jerusalem. The amount taken during the day was over £14.

A.D. 1884.

Robert W. Hodgson, esq., M.D. (London), F.R.C.P. Dr. Hodgson. (Edin.,) died at Northallerton, on February 29th, and was interred at the west end of the cemetery.*

On Monday, March 10th (no cause having been shewn Demolition of why the faculty should not issue), Mr. J. Dodgson, assisted the Chancel. by a gang of fifteen workmen, commenced to excavate the church-yard, remove the tombstones, and cut down the rank brushwood surrounding the chancel of the parish church, previous to its demolition. Happily the accumulation of soil was not great, so that no human remains were disturbed except such as had been turned up by former interments. On the following Monday the work of taking down the chancel was commenced, but was unfortunately marred by an accident, the first since the commencement of the work of restoration. One of the workmen engaged on the roof missed his footing, and fell through the ceiling, carrying with him a large quantity of the plaster, covering two men at work underneath; one was slightly injured, the other two seriously. The same day, a small bottle tightly corked, was found imbedded in the mortar near the apex of the east gable, containing a slip of parchment, much discoloured, bearing the following inscription :

"Anno Mundi, M.M.M.M.M.D.C.C.L.X.X.v.II., Anno Domini, M.D.C.C.L.X.X.V.III. in the xvIII year of the reign of Georgius III., Dei Gratia de Anglis, Scotia, Frances, et Hibernia Rex. In the III year of the commonwealth of America, the Chancel of this Church was entirely taken down and rebuilt at the sole expense of the Rector."

*The compiler would gladly have written a memoir, but he felt that the late respected doctor's modesty would have prompted him to decline the honour, could his wishes have been consulted.

A.D. 1884.

Further
Discoveries.

of the Chancel.

new

*

*

REVERSE.

*

Esq., and Benj. Walker, vicar. Dan.
Wm. Henry Peirse, Esq., representatives of the borough.
Stephen Bennison, architect.

Sit Lux et Lux Fuit.

The most high, most puissant, and most illustrious Prince
George Montague,* Duke of Manchester, Right Worshipful
Grand Master of England."

A large quantity of carved stonework was also discovered, including the head of a fine Saxon cross in good preservation (another proof of the existence of a Saxon church at Northallerton), a smaller cross of later date, and a number of Early English crosses and mouldings, the latter proving the insertion of an Early English east window, in the place of the Laying the Corner Stone Lancet one, after the destruction of the chancel by fire. Another link in the sequential history of the ancient parish church was added to the historical chain of the town on Tuesday, July 1st, in this year, by the laying of the corner stone of the new perpendicular chancel to be erected in the place of the old grotesque, barn-like structure which was built in 1778. The old chancel was taken down and the foundations of the new one put in by Mr. James Dodgson, of Northallerton. The work of erecting the new chancel was entrusted by the building committee to Mr. George Grange, who, with a large and competent staff of workmen, superintended by Mr. Thomas Carse, clerk of the works, quickly made the necessary preparations for the laying of the chief corner stone. It was decided that the ceremony (like that which accompanied the placing of the copestone of the old

* George Montague, Duke of Manchester, was Grand Master of the southern or London Grand Lodge of Freemasons, which was then known as the Grand Lodge of England. He was appointed in 1777. The northern or York Lodge was designated the Grand Lodge of all England, and although the representative lodge of northern Freemasons, its prime authority was recognised by the Grand Lodge. There was a sort of provincial lodge held at Halifax at this time. Each Grand Lodge enjoyed independent privileges, such as granting of warrants for new Lodges, choosing its own Grand Master, &c. The two Grand Lodges continued to work amicably together, until a shyness arose between them in consequence of the southern Grand Lodge having granted warrants out of its prescribed jurisdiction; from which time the progress of Freemasonry was rapid in the south, and gradually declined in the north. In 1790 the Grand Lodge of all England held at York became defunct. From the fact of the name of the Duke of Manchester appearing upon the scroll, it would appear that the workmen employed at the building of the chancel belonged to the southern Grand Lodge, and held a charter which constituted themselves an itinerant lodge. It is known that a lodge did exist about this time, which held its meetings at the Pack Horse Inn (vide page 195). The title "Prince" was commonly given to Dukes at that time, and does not imply Royal affinity or connection in any way.

A.D. 1884.

chancel) should be a masonic one, and the Earl of Zetland, Deputy Provincial Grand Master of the North and East Ridings of Yorkshire, was accordingly invited to perform it. His lordship cordially accepted the invitation, but regretted his inability to lay the corner stone in person, and commissioned Dr. Bell, his deputy, to conduct the ceremony. Masonic Whereupon the Anchor Lodge at Northallerton undertook to Ceremony. make arrangements for the holding of a special Provincial Lodge on Tuesday, July 1st, for the purpose of laying the stone. The day, which was a brilliant one, was commenced with an early celebration of the Holy Communion, the Rev. B. C. Caffin, vicar, and the Rev. J. L. Saywell, curate, being the officiating clergymen. At twelve o'clock the special Provincial Grand Lodge met in the Assembly Rooms of the Golden Lion Hotel, and marched in procession to the church in the following order :

Northallerton Borough Band (under the leadership of Mr. T. Jenkinson); Two Tylers, with drawn swords; Visiting Brethren; Officers and Brethren of the Craft Lodges of North and East Yorkshire, under their respective banners; Provincial Grand Officers of other Provinces; Officers of the Provincial Grand Lodge of North and East Yorkshire, each bearing the emblems of their office.

The children of Northallerton National Schools were arranged in lines on each side of the pathway leading to the church, through which the procession passed, and on reaching the west door of the church the Tylers halted, the brethren dividing and forming an avenue facing inwards, through which the officers and past officers of the Provincial Grand Lodge passed into the church in order of seniority. All having taken their seats, a short service was held, the sermon being preached by the Very Rev. Dr. Purey-Cust, Dean of York, and very Worshipful Past Grand Chaplain of England, and Past D.G.M. of Bucks and Birks. At the conclusion of the service, the procession was re-formed, and left by the south porch of the church for the platform at the east end of the chancel, the choir and clergy, headed by the Borough Band, preceding the Masonic body singing the processional hymn, "Forward! be our watchword." At the conclusion of the hymn, the vicar as Chairman of the Building Committee, requested the Acting Provincial Grand Master, J. P. Bell, esq., M.D., J.P., to lay the chief corner stone of the new chancel. The vessels of corn, wine, and oil were then deposited on a pedestal placed for their reception, the upper stone and the lower one adjusted, after which the Acting Provincial Grand Master addressed the assembly. The Past Provincial Grand Chaplain, Brother the Rev. Kemp, then offered up a prayer. The singing of the Masonic

« PreviousContinue »